shrapnel

February 27, 2009 at 5:37pm

hey m,

today i swam with sharks! real live ones! and it was amazing. i got to go snorkeling, and the ocean is beautiful. everything is so slow paced- everyone drives motorcycles or mopeds, and no one gives a fuck. they feed us booze for beakfast, lunch, and dinner! it rules! our room is amazing- i wake up and have a perfect view of the ocean. it smells of spices everywhere i go. today i went on a cruise and drank rum in the ocean. we got to dance to bob marley and it was perfect.

everything here reminds me of you.

elle
xoxo

i was going through old emails and stumbled across this one- the only email i have between me and m in four years of bullshit. i left in the winter of 2008: the first time his drug-fueled rage took everything over the edge and he became physically violent. i say violent because that’s the only way i remember it… so awfully painful. so terribly angry. we briefly reconnected that summer, but there was no trust and the stress of forcing myself to care about him became too much. we parted ways again, only to reconnect in the winter of 2009- two days before i left for my very first trip, to the dominican republic. he came back into my life as quick as he always left. while i should have been enjoying my first vacation in the sun, surrounded by people who loved me… i spent the whole time stressing over whether or not i wanted to go there with him again. it’s weird- how simple emails can remind me so vividly of exactly how i felt back then. so broken, so hopeful, so fucking vulnerable. i haven’t gone back any further to see if there were more from him…

when i got back from my vacation at two in the morning, i had barely dropped my suitcases on the floor before we were on the phone together. i spent days with him in bed talking, as he cried and cried. we both did. i don’t ever want to feel that kind of sadness again. i don’t ever want to be put into a position where i know i have to leave someone i love. it took me three years to walk away forever… what the hell does that say about my strength? fucking nothing.

this april will mark the two year anniversary of our final separation. it will mark the two year anniversary of the day i woke up, walked to his work, ordered him into a back booth, and ripped him apart. the two year anniversary of the day i called him a monster to his face, told him to eat shit and die, and that if he EVER attempted to contact me again, i’d call the police. it marks the two year anniversary of my sobriety- sober from his sickness, sober from mine.

two years of freedom.

in some ways it feels like such an accomplishment, such an insurmountable feat. in other ways it all still seems so devastating, so tragic. half the time it doesn’t feel like my own story. i have this awful way of remembering him before the drugs, before the partying, before the anger and abuse. he was so young, so pure, so innocent, i thought. i know now that i was blinded by youth, by young love, by the haze of a world i was spiraling into so easily. i was conned, and he knew just what he was doing from the very beginning- and that’s the scariest part. i see now, how calculated our love was. how conditionnal. how ugly. how sad.

so very, very sad.

in any case, he’s gone now. lost somewhere in the muddle of this city. shamefully hiding from everything- all the bridges he’s burned, people he’s fucked, friendships he’s destroyed. i’m okay with that, too. i’m okay with him being here because i know he’s so unwelcome.

i’m not even concerned about how awful and alone he must feel… and after two years of running, of hiding, of living in fear… i’m no longer concerned about what kind of person that makes me.

8 thoughts on “shrapnel

  1. *hugs*

    You are amazing. Your strength is …beyond words, beyond comprehension. I can’t imagine the strength it took you to leave. And even if you think you have nothing to show for it..you’re wrong.

    You’ve inspired and probably saved so many people just by telling your story, by sharing your pain, by opening up about your past love for him and the strength and the pain it took to move on.

    You are remarkable: I’m glad to know you, to have you as a friend ❤

    xoxo
    never forget that you're amazing and remarkable.

  2. I think I was supposed to find you E. You’re helping me in more ways than you can imagine. I’m finally getting to the point where I am realizing I cant rationalize anymore. Yeah it was always when we’d be drinking but the action still happened, I’ve learned to take the first part of that out. No more rationalizing! We deserve so much better and I believe you have that with Dan 🙂 Love you my friend!

    • miss kaye- if my story and outlook on the abusive relationship i had with m can help you in your situation in ANY WAY, then my intentions for this blog and telling my story are definitely coming true.

      rationalizing was one of my greatest downfalls… it took years, but i finally know that it WASN’T okay… that nothing about the situation made it okay, and his excuses won’t ever bring me back. i’m so happy you haven’t given into him- you’re so, so strong.

      i am definitely lucky to have dan, he’s amazing.

      love you back! xx

Leave a Reply

