up, down, turn around- please don’t let me hit the ground

it’s funny the way things work out…

i’ve known dan for almost nine years. we used to drink 40’s of malt liquor in the school park after dark on the south end of the city. we’d make out up against brick walls when i was just fifteen. we used to drink beer in the dim of my parents’ basement in the suburbs, a whole bunch of teenagers with mohawks and patched jeans- drunkenly giggling at some indie film on the screen.

he remembers our first kiss.

dan and i drifted over the years- we’d party together here and there, and i’d see him out sometimes. but for the most part we’d gone separate ways. when andy and i broke up and i moved out of our house, i had a lot of free time on my hands. when i wasn’t drinking myself into oblivion, i was spending all my time catching up with most friends- one of them being dan.

when i finally got my apartment in may (only a few short blocks from dan’s house), we became inseparable. despite our opposite work schedules, we started spending all of our free time together- going to montreal to party, staying in on work nights for dinner and a movie, drinking tall cans on my couch in sweatpants, listening to hip hop and drinking wine until 5:30 in the morning, taking naps together on my couch, or dancing alone together to temptation by new order at 4am on my birthday. no matter what we did it was silly, it was fun… it was easy. he was my best friend.

two weeks ago after a long night at the bar, after too many pitchers of cheap beer and laughing so hard my sides ached, he kissed me. while ashley was taking silly pictures of us he stopped and kissed me.

and she snapped the picture just in time

the last few weeks have been a complete blur. but i am constantly amazed by how easily things fell into place for us. we’re that totally cheesy couple who text each other any time we’re not around. we kiss every chance we get and we’re completely inseparable. things are so different, and yet they’re still the same. he still makes me laugh until i cry, and i’m still caught off-guard by the way he looks at me.

when he got home from work last night we watched walking dead and drank a few beers with our buddy todd. the boys left to go to the bar for a bit and i stayed back because i had to be up early for work. and still- sometime in the middle of the night, dan came home to me, crawled into bed, kissed my forehead and said, “i can’t get over how easy this is… it feels like a dream”.

and just like that, i fell asleep.

15 thoughts on “up, down, turn around- please don’t let me hit the ground

  1. OMG! I almost cried!!! I’m happy for the both of you! Congratulations for real. On a side note, The Walking Dead = AWESOME! I wonder what happened to Merle?!

    • picturing you being that happy over this totally made my day! you’re such a sweetheart 🙂

      it’s an awesome story- he keeps telling me he can’t believe we waited this long.

  2. First time I met dan? I witnessed the “listening to hip hop and drinking wine until 5:30 in the morning” hahahahaha

    You guys are adorable.

    I’m so glad this is working out the way it is bb, definitely too cute. Get out of my face already.

    ❤

  3. Pingback: 2010 – a (super long) recap « elle

Leave a Reply

